Vancouver-based guitarist Paul Pigat performs as part of the Firehall Arts Centre Music in the Courtyard series.
Vancouver-based guitarist Paul Pigat performs as part of the Firehall Arts Centre Music in the Courtyard series.

Music will continue to fill the Firehall Arts Centre’s courtyard as the East Vancouver venue continues its live summer series.

Having already experimented with two limited-seating events during the Dancing on the Edge Festival and Vancouver Pride in its courtyard, where face masks and physical distancing were the new norms, the feedback from audiences was both immediate and encouraging.

“Many thanked our staff and came up to express their excitement about attending more performances in the future as they search for connectivity only live performances provide,” says artistic producer Donna Spencer. “When planning this music series with Diane Kadota and John Korsrud, I wanted to offer a place where audiences could sit back, relax, and enjoy music from some of B.C.’s finest musicians, and provide a little joy to people’s COVID lives.”

Taking place on weekends through September 27, Music in the Courtyard is an eclectic mix of music genres running the gamut of the classical to the more adventurous.

With a maximum capacity of 40 people for each show to ensure safe physical distancing, audiences are also being encouraged to wear face masks. Masks will be available for sale at the door for those who do not have one.

The full line-up for Music in the Courtyard follows. Visit firehallartscentre.ca for tickets and information.

Friday, August 21 at 7:00 pm – Zhambai

Saturday, August 22 at 7:00 pm – VirtualFeast.ca – Savage Society Presents The Backyard Sessions with Warrior Bunny and Sam Chimes

Sunday, August 23 at 3:00 pm – Celso Machado

Thursday, August 27 at 7:00 pm – Elle Wolf

Friday, August 28 at 7:00 pm -The Patsy Klein/Tony Wilson Band

Saturday, August 29 at 7:00 pm -Waxwing

Sunday, August 30 at 3:00 pm – The Anti-Fogmatics

Friday, September 4 at 7:00 pm & Saturday, September 5 at 7:00 pm & Sunday, September 6 at 3:00 pm – Small Town Artillery

Friday, September 11 at 7:00 pm – Gord Grdina Trio

Saturday, September 12 at 7:00 pm – Itamar Erez Trio

Sunday, September 13 at 7:00 pm – Sitka String Quartet

Friday, September 18 at 7:00 pm – Paul Pigat

Saturday, September 19 at 7:00 pm – Ruby & Smith

Sunday, September 20 at 3:00 pm – Laura Crema Quartet

Friday, September 25 at 7:00 pm – Triology

Saturday, September 26 at 7:00 pm – Microcosmos

Sunday, September 27 at 3:00 pm – Van Django